The Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS) has issued the official notification for CRP-PO/MT-XVI, the 16th Common Recruitment Process for recruitment of Probationary Officers (PO) / Management Trainees (MT) in participating public sector banks for vacancies of 2027-28.
As per the official notification, the recruitment process is conducted through an Online Preliminary Examination, Online Main Examination, Personality Test, Interview and Provisional Allotment. The notification schedules the Online Main Examination for October 2026, while the Main Examination Call Letter (Admit Card) is scheduled to be made available in September 2026 on the official website (ibps.in).
Important Update: The official notification provides the tentative schedule for the Main Examination Call Letter as September 2026. It does not specify an exact release date for the call letter. Candidates are advised to keep their Registration Number and Password/Date of Birth ready to download their admit card once the link is activated.
Institute of Banking Personnel Selection (IBPS)
IBPS PO / MT-XVI 16th Recruitment 2026 Mains Admit Card
CRP PO/MT-XVI (Probationary Officer / Management Trainee) : Short Details of Notification
IBPS PO / MT-XVI Vacancy Details 2026 : Total 6,715 Posts
Indicative bank-wise and category-wise vacancy distribution across participating public sector banks:
Bank Name
SC
ST
OBC
EWS
UR
Total
Bank of Baroda
285
142
513
190
770
1,900
Bank of India
75
37
135
50
203
500
Bank of Maharashtra
165
82
297
110
446
1,100
Canara Bank
225
112
405
150
608
1,500
Central Bank of India
75
37
135
50
203
500
Indian Bank
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
Indian Overseas Bank
84
41
148
54
223
550
Punjab National Bank
76
38
136
50
204
504
Punjab & Sind Bank
24
13
47
15
62
161
UCO Bank
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
Union Bank of India
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
NR
Total Vacancies
1,009
502
1,816
669
2,719
6,715
NR = Not Reported. Vacancies are indicative and provisional allotment will be based on final reported vacancies by participating banks.
Educational Qualification Details
A Degree (Graduation) in any discipline from a University recognized by the Government of India or any equivalent qualification recognized by the Central Government.
The candidate must possess a valid Marksheet / Degree Certificate that confirms graduation on the date of online registration.
The candidate must have entered the percentage of marks obtained in graduation while registering for CRP PO/MT-XVI.
IBPS PO / MT-XVI Main Exam Pattern 2026
Test / Subject
Questions
Marks
Time
Reasoning
40
60
45 Minutes
General / Economy / Banking Awareness (with RBI Circulars)
50
60
35 Minutes
English Language
40
20
35 Minutes
Data Analysis & Interpretation
40
60
45 Minutes
Objective Test Subtotal
170
200
160 Minutes
Descriptive Paper (Essay & Comprehension in English)
02
25
30 Minutes
Grand Total (Main Examination)
172
225
190 Minutes (3 Hrs 10 Mins)
Negative Marking: Penalty of 0.25 marks (one-fourth) assigned to that question will be deducted for every incorrect objective answer. Unanswered questions attract no penalty.
Common Interview (100 Marks | Qualifying: Gen 40%, SC/ST/OBC/PwBD 35%)
Stage 5
Final Merit List (Main Exam : Interview Ratio = 80 : 20) & Provisional Allotment
How to Download IBPS PO / MT-XVI Mains Admit Card 2026
Eligible candidates who qualified in the preliminary examination can download the Main Examination Call Letter online through the official website (ibps.in).
Common queries and verified answers regarding IBPS PO 16th Main Examination & Call Letter
When will the IBPS PO/MT-XVI Mains Admit Card be released?+
As per the official notification, the Main Examination Call Letter is tentatively scheduled for release in September 2026. The PDF does not provide an exact release date.
When will the IBPS PO Mains Exam 2026 be conducted?+
The official notification schedules the Online Main Examination for October 2026.
How many vacancies are announced for CRP PO/MT-XVI?+
The notification contains 6,715 indicative vacancies across participating public sector banks.
What is the duration of the IBPS PO Mains Examination?+
The examination lasts 190 minutes (3 hours 10 minutes): 160 minutes for the 170-question objective test and 30 minutes for the 25-mark descriptive paper.
Is there negative marking in the IBPS PO Mains Exam?+
Yes. 0.25 marks (one-fourth of the marks assigned to that question) will be deducted for every incorrect objective answer.
What is the official IBPS website to download call letter?+
Candidates appearing for the Online Main Examination must ensure they carry their authenticated Preliminary Examination Call Letter along with the stamped ID proof photocopy and the original ID card to the exam hall. Failure to produce the stamped prelims call letter may lead to debarment from the examination.